6 Months In {2017}

Is it really possible to already be 6 months through the year? I honestly can’t believe how quickly this year has gone by.. somehow I think it went by faster than 2016 did, if that is even possible. But so far 2017 has been the year of things coming to an end for me, a couple of book series have ended and quite a few TV shows as well.

With everything coming to an end it’s hard not to think about everything that I’ve loved, disliked and some unexpected favourites of 2017 so far.


3 Favourite Reads So Far

These were three of my most anticipated releases for the year, and I adored all of them. Of the three however, I have to declare Lord of Shadows the overall favourite.. purely because this is probably Cassie’s best book she has written to date. Each and every one of these books are singularly special in their own ways but Lord of Shadows blew me out of the water completely, I’m still not over it.


3 Least Favourite Reads So Far

2017 has been a hard year for me in terms of the quality of books I have read so far. The reason for this is down to trying to tackle my ever growing TBR pile of owned books and putting too much stock in hype surrounding the books I buy. These three books in particular are some of the ones I really did not enjoy, but of them all I could go on a ranty tangent about how much The Death Cure pissed me off. I basically hate read the majority of The Death Cure.. and if they end the film exactly the same way I will be furious.


3 Unexpected Favourites

Every now and then I’ll put faith in the hands of somebody else and just buy a book they’ve recommended. And I Darken and Strange the Dreamer were so highly recommended by Christine (@WeeReader) and Casey (@adoptabookaus) respectively that I just bought them and put all my faith in their recommendations. They didn’t fail me, I absolutely loved both of them so much that I need the sequels immediately.


2017 GoodReads Reading Challenge

6MonthsIn.2017Originally I didn’t set a goal for the reading challenge GoodReads hosts every year, my intention was to simply read whatever I wanted without a time constraint. But a couple months into the year I decided to set a goal of 50 books and still try not to allow the challenge to control what I read or how long it took me to finish a book.

6 months in and I’ve officially read 27 of the 50 books I set as my goal, with quite a few (if not most) of those books being 500+ pages long. I’m quite happy with the progress that has been made so far this year and I can’t wait to see what the next half brings!


A Song of Ice and Fire Challenge

Along with my GoodReads challenge of 50 books I set a personal challenge of finishing, or catching up on, George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series by the end of 2017. I started the series two years ago, and I regretfully entered this year with three of the five (in North America there are only five books) left to read. So far this year I have read one (and 60% of another) of the three books, and hoping to still accomplish my challenge. With still half the year to go and only one full book left to read it’s completely achievable!


What I’ve Been Listening To

220px-stripped_album_coverThis year has been great for new music so far. From a new Ed Sheeran album, to new a Halsey album and even a new EP from Ruelle, there’s just been so much that I’ve had on repeat these past few months. But there’s one song that, while not new, I recently heard for the first time and keep going back to. That song is ‘Is This the End?’ by We The Kings.

It was the last song on their 2014 acoustic album ‘Stripped’. The lyrics are so powerful, and the way singer Travis Clark sings the song evokes so much emotion it’s hard not to feel a connection.


What I’ve Been Watching

I had to really narrow it down for this part.. as someone who is always watching something I figured it was best to narrow it to series I’ve completed. Yes, sticking with the theme of things coming to an end these three shows are over now. Bates Motel and Pretty Little Liars ended recently, while Merlin ended back in 2012.

I absolutely loved Merlin, that ending was heartbreaking and I’m secretly hoping for an anniversary special or something to come out one day haha. Bates Motel was a decent ending, but as for Pretty Little Liars.. let’s just say I was not impressed with how they chose to end that series, it was such a cop out move.


This type of post is so hard to put together, mainly because you don’t realize how much you’ve read/ watched/ listened to in the span of six months and you don’t want the post to go on for ages. So things really have to be narrowed down as much as possible, and this is what the end result looks like!

I’d love to know some of your favourite things from the past six months, let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “6 Months In {2017}

  1. Omg – the Shades of Magic trilogy has been on my TBR more months now and I still can’t believe I haven’t even started it yet!
    I’ve read so many excellent reviews for Strange the Dreamer I’m so looking forward to reading it this month (I finally bought it! 😀 )
    Excellent post btw – you have a wonderful collection here.
    I look forward to more posts from you in the future… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh! You need to start the Shades of Magic trilogy soon.. I adored it from the very first sentence. I was hooked.

      I hope you like Strange the Dreamer, Laini Taylor’s writing can be hit or miss for some people 😅 myself included.

      And thank you so much! ❤️ Happy reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

