That’s a Wrap: June {2017}

Ahh June.. how I hate thee. Hear me out. With June now over we are officially half way done with the year and one month closer to winter returning. Yes, you heard me correctly! Winter, the dreaded month of cold and snow. I feel like all the snow only just melted away and now I have to start preparing for its inevitable return. Save me.


hopeless fountain kingdom by Halsey

1200x630bbI had been waiting for the day Halsey released her second album.. and it finally came out! Basically I had hopeless fountain kingdom on repeat all month and I regret nothing. Some people are saying the album isn’t as good as her debut Badlands but honestly why do they insist on comparing them?

Badlands came out back in 2015, that’s two years for Halsey to have grown and changed in ways that would surely change her music. I love the whole album but some of my favourite songs are: Don’t Play and Alone.


12954620Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I had been looking forward to this series for so long, and I honestly thought it was something I would adore.. however that didn’t exactly happen. Falling Kingdoms was a buddy read that ended with me forcing myself to finish off the last 200 pages.

Honestly, I think this is a case of if I had read it when it was a new release or shortly after I probably would have liked it more. But I have read so many other fantasies since the release of Falling Kingdoms in 2012 that it just didn’t meet the mark.


25812109The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The Female of the Species was a dark and twisted take on a contemporary that was a fantastic change of pace for the genre. However, it was very much a case of mistaken identity on my part.. I went in thinking it was something it wasn’t, which resulted in me being a little bit let down overall.

Now that’s not to say it wasn’t good, because it was, it just had a few things working against it for my complete adoration of the dark-twisty book Mindy McGinnis wrote. I do have to give a huge trigger warning for animal abuse, if that is something you want to avoid reading about this book is not for you.


17675462The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
Rating: ★★★★☆ {4.5}

It’s no secret that The Raven Cycle is a very hyped up book in this community, and it’s because of that hype that I put off starting The Raven Boys. To be honest if I hadn’t been bought the first book last Christmas I probably wouldn’t have ever read it.. I don’t have the best luck with overhyped books.

However, I finally read it and I really liked it! There was the odd instance where I had to re-read a couple of sections because a sentence felt like it was randomly inserted with absolutely no context and confused me, but I could overlook that enough to not have it affect my enjoyment. That being said I did jump on the Indigo site and place and order for The Dream Thieves so quickly, I can’t wait to continue the series.


33973968The Goblins of Bellwater by Molly Ringle
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I was drawn to this book by the cover and by the fact it clearly had something to do with goblins. However, after reading The Goblins of Bellwater I was left a little bit disappointed when it didn’t quite meet my hopes and desires.

For a book involving goblins there wasn’t enough with the actual goblins for my liking, and I just wanted more about them. I also was hoping for a slightly darker tone despite the contemporary romance label, but that was just a personal preference. You can find a review for the book here.


harry-potter-illustrated-edition-coverHarry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone {Illustrated Edition}
Rating: ★★★★★

Philosopher’s Stone celebrated its 20th anniversary of the original release back in 1997, and in honour of the day I decided to spend the day rereading the book. Since I own two different copies I figured it was the perfect time to read the edition that was illustrated by Jim Kay. The illustrations are absolutely stunning and I’m so happy to have this edition in my library.

It was a very magical day, seeing everyone celebrate the release of a book that means so much to so many people was unbelievable. It was proof that this series will be a must read for many years to come.


Ori and the Blind Forest

header

As you may have noticed in recent posts I’m branching out and including more than just books on my blog these days. This will be a rare inclusion, as I don’t often play video games.. but last month a dear dear friend of mine gifted me Ori and the Blind Forest and I fell in love with it from the moment I started the game.

The graphics are absolutely stunning, and the game itself it quite fun to play. Ori is a puzzle/ platform game that is available on PC through Steam, or XBox One. It was announced recently that a sequel is coming our way, the title for it is Ori and the Will of the Wisps. Cannot recommend this game highly enough, and I’m not even close to finishing it yet.


..and that’s my wrap up for the month of June! I hope you’re liking the inclusion of some non-bookish things in my wrap ups and other posts around the blog, I’d love to get some feedback from you guys. ♥

Leave a Reply

