That’s a Wrap: May {2017}

Well.. I didn’t see myself having such a good reading month, but I should have expected it when two of my three most anticipated releases of the year came out at the beginning and end of the same month. Along with reading a grand total of 6 books, I also finished off a tv series that came to an end. Well done May, well done.


31451174A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
Rating: ★★★★★

A Court of Wings and Ruin was one of my three highly anticipated releases of 2017, and it blew me away. This being the first time we see Maas bring a series to a close I was terrified of how she would choose to end the trilogy. Maas really knows how to punch you in the gut and then continue twisting your emotions in every direction known to man.

I just want to spend the rest of my life exploring Prythian and all the courts. Seriously though, I need to see more from the courts and the High Lords specifically the Day Court and Helion.

Overall A Court of Wings and Ruin was great, but there were times where I thought it felt a bit rushed. Obviously I can’t get into details (spoilers), but just know that despite this feeling I still thought it was a decent ending.. that isn’t quite an end? Only Maas knows what is coming next.


339570591The Changeling’s Journey by Christine Spoors
Rating: ★★★★☆

I had the pleasure of being one of Christine’s beta readers for her debut novel The Changeling’s Journey, and I’m so glad I was asked to be a beta reader. I’m so proud of Christine for working so hard to self-publish this book, keep your eyes open for it’s release sometime in July.

The Changeling’s Journey brings back the days of a good old adventure story in which you join best friends Morven and Glen on their first adventure outside their village. If you’re looking for a book inspired by Scottish folklore, and focuses more on friendship/ family over romance The Changeling’s Journey is the book you’ve been waiting for! Also, would you LOOK at that cover? Honestly one of the best covers I have ever seen. I want to stand and look out at the mountains too Morven, move over.


28954137Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman
Rating: ★★★★☆

Yes, yes. I finally read Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy! In anticipation for the impending release for Lord of Shadows I figured it was time to read these novellas. I enjoyed most of them, but the continuing theme for the majority of the book was that the characters didn’t seem 100% like I remember them as.

Okay yeah it has been quite a few years since I read The Mortal Instruments but I think I would remember if Simon made THAT many “nerdy” references to things like Doctor Who and Star Trek. Honestly I wish Cassie would write her novellas on her own and didn’t bring on a multitude of co-authors. These are her characters and I don’t feel like the other authors are capable of writing them truthfully.


31677270Radio by Sophia Elaine Hanson
Rating: ★★★★☆

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Radio, and it made my month. Sophia is honestly one of the sweetest people I’ve ever had the pleasure of talking to, and being able to see her progression as a self-published author is a joy.

Vinyl was a surprise favourite read of 2016, and Radio is no exception. Returning to the diverse world and characters contained in these pages was fantastic. I love the characters, and the involvement of music in this dystopian/ steampunk-ish world. Honestly, I cannot wait to see where Sophia goes with Siren next year and even what comes next after the Vinyl trilogy comes to an end.


18189606Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
Rating: ★★★★☆

In an attempt to cleanse my brain from all the fantasy I had read so far this year I decided to try and read Since You’ve Been Gone. I say try because the last time I picked it up I barely got through the first chapter (they can be insanely long chapters alright).

This time around went much better, it took a couple chapters, but once Emily started working on Sloane’s list things picked up and I flew through the book. Honestly to start with I wasn’t a fan of Emily, but by the end I warmed up to her. Since You’ve Been Gone is the type of YA Contemporary I actually like reading, the teenage characters are more mature and the romance is more realistic compared to other YA contemporaries out there today. I will definitely be picking up more by Morgan Matson in the future, maybe I’ve finally found my go to contemporary author!


30312891Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare
Rating: ★★★★★

Yea.. that happened..

Lord of Shadows was the last of my three most anticipated releases of 2017 and.. I’m not okay. Cassie has surpassed all of my expectations with this installment of the Shadowhunter Chronicles, honestly I’m tempted to say I think Lord of Shadows is in the running for my favourite of all Shadowhunter books at this point.

The Blackthorns have taken up permanent residence in my heart and it kills me to know I have to wait until 2019 to get the conclusion to The Dark Artifices trilogy. I’m not going to survive these next two years and you can be guaranteed I’ll be rereading both Lady Midnight and Lord of Shadows at least once before The Queen of Air and Darkness is released. I have so many theories!


batesmotelBates Motel

After 5 years, and a grand total of 50 episodes, Bates Motel aired its final episode on April 24th 2017. I waited to watch the final season because I knew it was going to be a twisted ride, and boy was I right.

I’m sad that Bates Motel is over but I couldn’t be happier with the progression of the series. In my opinion it only got better with each passing season, in terms of plot and acting everything was superb. It was a pleasure to have watched this show from the very beginning and I couldn’t recommend it enough.


 

Leave a Reply

