Radio {Review}

Synopsis:

31677270After the traumatic events at the dreaded prison Red Bay, Ronja is hanging by a thread. Whispers trail her through the Belly, carrying rumors of her borderline supernatural voice. Plagued by nightmares and haunted by the memories of those she could not save, she clings to the promise that her gift will soon become the weapon of the Anthem.

When doubt and arrogance cloud the eyes of their once trusted commander, Ronja and her friends are forced to take matters into their own hands. Armed with little more than an idea, they strike out on their own to silence The Music and The Conductor once and for all. But time is running out, and a new threat is stirring within the walls of the city…

Received a copy of this book from the
author in exchange for an honest review.

| GoodReads | Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery |


Review:

Rating: ★★★★☆

I have been looking forward to reading this book ever since I finished Vinyl over a year ago. The level of excitement when it arrived in my mailbox was unreal.. seriously my dog gave me the harshest side eye I have ever seen when I unpacked it.. if she could speak she’d probably have called me a freak as she walked away.

Returning to Revinia and these characters was long over due. The makeshift family of rebels and misfits is really what drives this series; Sophia writes characters superbly, they are so real I can clearly imagine each and every one of them in my head. I honestly think if  there is any lasting harm done to my favourite Anthemites by the end of this trilogy I will toss the books over a bridge to symbolically drown my feelings (and the quickly buy new copies to replace them in my library). Radio did an excellent job at pushing the revolution forward while also providing enough time to get to know the Anthemites more.

I can’t go too much into detail as Radio is a sequel, but Sophia has a habit of tossing in plot twists and before you even have a chance to process what just happened something else is happening, leaving you asking yourself “did that REALLY just happen?!”. She did it in Vinyl and again in Radio.. needless to say I’m unprepared for the twists and turns the third book will provide. How am I expected to wait until 2018 for Siren?!


The Vinyl trilogy is a one self-published series you really have to check out, I cannot recommend it highly enough. If you’re looking for a steampunk-ish/ dystopian Vinyl is perfect for you! Both Vinyl and Radio are available in ebook or paperback formats.

Leave a Reply

