That’s a Wrap: April {2017}

There goes another month.. one that honestly could have gone better than it did. I’m not going to get into the details, but needless to say I’m glad the month is over and here’s hoping May is much better than April.

During the month I managed to participate in round 3 of Tome Topple, you can learn more about the readathon (and what my TBR was) here, and see how I did during my first readathon here. But enough babbling.. you came here for a monthly wrap up!


27827203Frostblood by Elly Blake
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Frostblood is Elly Blake’s debut novel, and I was excited to pick it up for a couple of reasons. Obviously because it sounded like something I would totally love to read, but also because Elly is a CANADIAN author (yes, that had to be capitalized for dramatic effect).

While I enjoyed reading the book I’m not too interested in continuing with the series. I personally didn’t buy the romance between Arcus and Ruby, and after reading the synopsis for Fireblood (the sequel) there’s an impending unnecessary love triangle coming. Love triangles are unavoidable in YA at the best of times but when it’s established in book one that the main characters are “true loves” the addition of a third party annoys me.


18006496Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
Rating: ★★★★☆

We all know the Throne of Glass series by now.. and there isn’t much else I can add to the conversation that hasn’t been said a thousand times already. While I thoroughly enjoy the world Maas has created I don’t honestly see why the series is so hyped up at this point.

Yes, the series is good.. but it’s not fantastic in my opinion, and at this point I’m thinking my only reason for continuing the series is because of Rowan (and because I own all the books released to date and feel inclined to finish the series).


33828904Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
Rating: ★★★★☆

Strange the Dreamer is the book that surprised me the most this month. I joined the hype train and got myself a copy of the book, but I wasn’t expecting to like it much to be honest. The reason for that being I struggled with Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy so I assumed (shhh.. don’t say it) Strange the Dreamer would be the same.

However, I’m so glad I was convinced to give it a chance because I absolutely loved it. Yes I struggled with the first 60 or so pages but then out of nowhere things shifted and everything fell into place for me. The writing was no longer weird and confusing, the world and characters all started to make sense, and I was thoroughly invested in Lazlo’s adventure. I need Muse of Nightmares immediately.


That’s it.. that is all I read in April. Well, technically I also started three other books but haven’t finished any of them. I hate when I get in this predicament, having multiple books on the go never ends well for me. Here’s to a new reading month!

6 thoughts on “That’s a Wrap: April {2017}

  1. I’m so happy you liked Strange and didn’t regret my yelling at you to read it XD The first 100 or so pages were slow for me as well but I loved all the dreaming and just how different it is 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • HEY Atleast it’s only 2 books and you don’t ahve to wait 5 years or something for a finally XD also I needed someone to cry with while I waited…
        I love the title Muse of Nightmares its so beautiful I can’t wait to see what the cover looks like, I’m hoping for inversed colours so it’s gold with blue font but I’m sure it’ll be amazing whatever colour XD

        Liked by 1 person

      • 😆 I completely understand.. why do you think I’m constantly trying to get people to read the Shades of Magic series?

        Ooh.. gold and blue would be stunning! 😍😍

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

