That’s a Wrap: March {2017}

March was a pretty hectic month for me. Out of the blue I ended up getting a call for a job interview and was quickly sucked into a whirlwind of job shadows, training and the beginning of a new job. Considering all of this I’m surprised I read as much as I did, especially since on my days off all I really wanted to do was binge watch Netflix haha.


29939230A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab
Rating: ★★★★★

Is it any surprised the first book I finished in March was A Conjuring of Light? I’m still not over the ending of this series; it was a roller coaster of emotions and has left me feeling torn between happiness and sadness.

A Conjuring of Light was my first 5 star read so far in 2017, and also one of my most anticipated reads of the year. No surprise here, but it will also more than likely end up in my favourite reads of 2017 list at the end of the year 😉

If you are interested in reading this series I have a non-spoiler review for A Darker Shade of Magic you can find on my blog (here). Without hyping up the series more than it has already been hyped, it will honestly forever be one of my favourite series, and I cannot thank Victoria enough for writing it.


22840421My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodie Ashton & Jodi Meadows
Rating: ★★★☆☆

After hearing nothing but rave reviews for My Lady Jane it kind of fell a little flat for me. Overall I found the characters a bit bland, and I didn’t find it very funny. Which if you’ve heard anything about MLJ it’s that it’s supposed to be a funny charming read.

I won’t go into too much detail as I wrote a review for it (here), which you can read if you want to know more. Sadly I doubt I will be continuing with the series unless I hear people say Hand, Ashton and Meadows increased the interruptions of the unreliable narrator – which was the only part of the book I actually found funny.


27883214Caraval by Stephanie Garber
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I had high hopes for Caraval.. and it just didn’t meet my expectations. My initial opinion was that it was simply an average read that didn’t quite hit the mark it aimed to reach, but the more I think about it the more I find I don’t like about it. Overall it was really disappointing (which seems to be a theme the last couple of months) and I’m unsure if I want to continue the series/ duology.

If you want to know more about my thoughts on Caraval in greater detail you can find my review for it here.


30463345And I Darken by Kiersten White
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m seriously kicking myself for not reading And I Darken sooner. I bought it last year on a recommendation and I was honestly unsure if I would like it or not.. to be honest I had no idea what it was about.

Turns out it’s a Vlad the Impaler “retelling”, but gender swapped where Vlad is now a young woman. I absolutely loved the historical setting because I went in knowing next to nothing about the Ottoman Empire and I had never read anything in that part of the world. My favourite part of the book was actually the character development between Lada and Radu, I loved their sibling relationship and how White wrote them. I found their development to be very subtle and had a great progression throughout the entire book. I cannot wait for Now I Rise to release in June, absolutely grabbing that as soon as humanly possible!


17788681The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This book was 100% a cover buy.. I was completely enamored by the cover, and let me just say images don’t do it justice! It’s so iridescent and beautiful in person.

I was left wanting more from it unfortunately, and being a duology I don’t know how much development can be done in the areas I’d like worked on. I found the plot to be a bit under developed – the concept of demons overtaking the world and the church essentially becoming the government is intriguing but very little about what happened prior to where the story begins is explored, leaving me wanting to know more about how the demon vs humanity war actually started and what caused the demon invasion in the first place.

Overall I found The Stars Never Rise simply average. It was an easy, compelling read but didn’t feed my curiosity about certain questions I had regarding plot and characters. I’m not sure if I’ll ever finish this duology or not at this point so if you’ve read The Flame Never Dies let me know if it answers those unanswered questions.


March was a surprisingly good reading month in terms of quantity, I still can’t believe I finished 5 books this month, and also the quality of the books I chose picked up a little bit. It’s no secret this year I haven’t had the best of luck with the books I’ve chosen to read so far this year.. so I’m hoping this continues throughout April!

4 thoughts on “That’s a Wrap: March {2017}

  1. I feel you on Caraval man that book was a disappointment! I loved ACOL and And I darken! They both have such kickass characters and I loved that And I Darken was a gender swapped retelling I’m excited for the next book 😀 The Stars never rise is beautiful! I would have cover bought it to xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

