That’s a Wrap: February {2017}

I’ve been encouraged to start (read attempt to continue) monthly wrap ups by my darling friend Christine aka WeeReader. We’ll see how long this actually lasts haha, I’m not very good with committing to monthly, or even weekly posts.

But anyways, February was kind of a mediocre month for me reading wise. Not so much in quantity but more so in quality. Most of what I chose to read this month was disappointing.. but enough of my babbling here’s the wrap up!


62291A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin
Rating: ★★★★☆ {4.5}

A Storm of Swords was the first book I finished in February and I loved it so much. I originally started the book series because I had heard it had a lot that wasn’t used on the show and boy am I glad I started it! The ending.. oh my lord. I really did not see that coming.

I cannot wait to pick up A Feast for Crows later this year, and hopefully catch up on the A Song of Ice and Fire series before the year is up.


31922141Forks, Knives, and Spoons by Leah DeCesare
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I got an eBook arc from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review of Forks, Knives, and Spoons and unfortunately I was thoroughly disappointed with it in the end. FK&S had the potential to be a cute and quirky Young Adult/ New Adult contemporary but the timeline was jumpy and the characters were blank slates with zero personality.

I did a full review for Forks, Knives, and Spoons which you can find here if you want to read all my opinions. This was just the beginning of my disappointing month sadly.


21414439Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I don’t know why I was so shocked that Truthwitch disappointed me when I finally picked it up. People whose opinions I trust had told me many times that there were a lot of unanswered questions concerning the plot, world building and very little development across the board. They were completely correct (surprise surprise).. I still can’t tell you what the purpose of the series is truly meant to be.

The only thing I actually liked about Truthwitch was the magic system, but even that lacked development. I wanted to know more about how it’s decided what kind of witch the people are born as but got no explanation at all. Will not be continuing with this series.


25494372The Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I was so intrigued by the plot of this book. But the writing didn’t sit well with me, I felt like the author started the book off trying to be all poetic and then eventually lost interest and changed tactics at some point.

The entire book basically follows Cass and Kip on the run from the government but it is actually the most boring run for their lives story I’ve ever read. I was so bored for the entire book, legitimately nothing happens until the very end and then it pulled a 5th Wave and wrapped everything up so nicely that even if I had liked the book I would have no desire to continue the trilogy. There was even a small “plot twist” that had zero effect on me because I simply didn’t care about the characters. Overall a complete disappointment.


So those are the books I read, and basically wish I hadn’t haha, for the month of February. But like they say “it’s quality over quantity” 🙂 and A Storm of Swords really saved the month. Hopefully March is better!

12 thoughts on “That’s a Wrap: February {2017}

  1. Yes to monthly wrap ups! I find it’s a good way to catch up on peoples posts I’ve missed and keep track of the books I’ve read 🙂 Sorry you had such a crummy reading month! Hopefully March brings out some 5 star reads for you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

