Bookish Courtship {Tag}

It’s been awhile since I did a tag.. I believe my last tag post was done back in October of 2016. So when I saw Thrice Read did the Bookish Courtship tag I was instantly excited and simply had to it myself! I highly recommend checking out Thrice Read’s post here to see their answers for these questions.


QUESTIONS

27417551Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover

I’m very much influenced by a gorgeous cover so this is a hard question. But my most recent cover buy is Ninth City Burning by J. Patrick Black. I was instantly drawn in by the bold red/ orange colour of the cover paired with the black city, I couldn’t tear my eyes away!

Typically it’s one of those books I have yet to actually pick up and read so I have no idea if I like what is inside the pages. But it is a stand alone science fiction/ post apocalyptic debut novel if you’re interested.


25812109Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary

This honour definitely goes to The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis. I first heard of this book through Epic Reads’ First Five weekly email thing that gives you a chapter a day Monday-Friday of a book they recommend. I read the first couple of chapters and was instantly sold on the concept, and for some unknown reason (I’m completely ridiculous?) I again haven’t read this potentially amazing book.

Oops? Soon guys, I will read it soon I promise! Maybe, possibly. My TBR is killing me help.


Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing

A Darker Shade of Magic. A Gathering of Shadows. A Conjuring of Light? Basically the entire Shades of Magic series (despite not being done ACOL yet) has fantastic writing. All I can say is that it has this cinematic feeling that is impossible for me to ignore. I recently watched A Clockwork Reader’s interview with V.E. Schwab and hearing what her talk about world building made me realize just how much work she put into creating the world.


256683Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pursue the rest of the series

Oh god.. this is hard, because I have a bad habit of buying the entire series (or what is available at the time) before actually reading the first book. A Darker Shade of Magic fits the bill for this too, but I am trying not to repeat books for this tag haha.

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. I originally read the first couple of chapters while I was watching over some kids for a couple days and was hooked. Yes I still bought every book available before actually reading the first book, it’s a sickness.


S&B CoverPhase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night long

Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone (actually the entire trilogy did to be honest). I was hooked from the beginning and did not want to put it down. It’s one of those books that has a bit of a mix opinion concerning how good it is, but I’m of the opinion that it is amazing.

I will forever go down with the ship of Alina + the Darkling and my back up ship of Alina + Nikolai. But in reality that ship will never happen because Nikolai is my book husband 4Eva ♥. Sorry Alina, he’s taken.


9361589Phase 6 – Always On My Mind: A book that you could not stop thinking about

Oh this is so easy.. The Night Circus.

I read The Night Circus way back in the early months of 2015 and I still cannot stop thinking about it to this day. It is hands down one of the best books I have ever read and is in desperate need of a reread sometime in 2017.

It’s so atmospheric and the characters *gushes* just, I can’t even explain. I thoroughly miss the characters, specifically the twins Poppet and Widget ♥ my precious children.


26114135Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book in which you love the way it feels

This is an odd question. I’m sure if it means the feelings it made me feel or how the book itself feels to hold? But I’ll just go with the former interpretation.

A book that made me feel all the feels is All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood. I received this book in a Novel Editions subscription box and I was left a bundle of confusion by the end of it. I never did a blog post concerning this book but you can find a short one on GoodReads if you want to know more about how I felt about All the Ugly and Wonderful Things.


41865Phase 8 – Meeting The Parents: A book in which you would recommend to your friends and family

Basically everyone I know who would actually read a book I recommend has already read them. But one thing I really hate hearing is when people say “I loved the Twilight movies, they were amazing!” and haven’t even tried to read the books.

Just.. no. For starters, the movies (in my opinion) were shit and the books are so much better. Are they fantastic books? Not entirely, there are so many better things to read out in the world. But if I could I would literally toss a copy of Twilight at those people’s face and tell them to read the damn book.


Phase 9 – Thinking About The Future: A book or series that you know you’ll re-read many times in the future

How am I expected to pick just one?

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is probably the best one to choose for this question. It’s one of my all-time favourite books and I could never get tired of reading it time after time. I really want to get my hands on the gorgeous Puffin in Bloom edition or the Mr. Boddington’s edition but sadly I don’t have either, but one day I will.

24611820     19849246


Phase 10 – Share The Love: Who would you like to tag?

Anyone who is interested in doing this tag is welcome to! I’d love to see all your answers 🙂 so if you do it ping back to me so I can read your post.

3 thoughts on “Bookish Courtship {Tag}

Leave a Reply

