Forks, Knives, and Spoons {Review}

31922141Synopsis:

There are three kinds of guys: forks, knives, and spoons. That is the final lesson that Amy York’s father sends her off to college with, never suspecting just how far his daughter will take it. Clinging to the Utensil Classification System as her guide, Amy tries to convince her skeptical roommate, Veronica Warren, of its usefulness as they navigate the heartbreaks and soul mates of college and beyond.

Beginning in 1988, their freshman year at Syracuse University, Amy and Veronica meet an assortment of guys from slotted spoons and shrimp forks to butter knives and sporks all while trying to learn if the UCS holds true. On the quest to find their perfect steak knives, they learn to believe in themselves and not to settle in love or life.

Received from NetGalley in
exchange for an honest review.

| GoodReads | Amazon | Book Depository | Wordery |


Review:

Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Release Date: April 18th 2017 by SparkPress

Forks, Knives, and Spoons held the potential to be an adorable YA/ New Adult contemporary with its quirky Utensil Classification System. It was an approach I had never read before and was really interested to see how it would play out. Unfortunately the characters were flat cookie cutter impersonations of what they could have been and by that I mean they had no personality. On multiple occasions I found myself having to re-read paragraphs to find out which character was narrating and worse I even got Amy and Veronica mixed up so often I got confused with which one was the main character.

Admittedly I may have misread some things regarding the characters, but the biggest issue I had with the book was the writing, it felt jumpy and was too quickly paced. Too much time was covered in a book that is only 392 pages long. I think the story would have benefited better with a focus on Amy’s years at Syracuse University or her life after university, not both in such a short book. Due to the jumpy quick pace of the writing I didn’t have a real opportunity to get to know the characters before they moved on to a different stage of their lives.

As I said Forks, Knives, and Spoons had such potential to be that cute YA/ New Adult contemporary but just fell a little flat for me. I never like giving such a scathing review for a book, but I hope my comments can help Leah improve her writing and character development as her career advances.

 

One thought on “Forks, Knives, and Spoons {Review}

Leave a Reply

