Series I Won’t Be Continuing

Making the decision to stop reading a series/ trilogy is not an easy one.. and often I find I force myself to continue one simply because “it could get better” or the truth is I’m just afraid of missing out on something amazing. The following are a book or more in a series that I’ve made the executive decision to stop reading.

Disclaimer: I am by no means saying these books are bad in anyway. I don’t mean to offend anyone if they happen to be some of your favourites.

The 5th Wave Trilogy by Rick Yancey

This was a hard trilogy to discontinue.. considering I have read two of the three books in the trilogy already. You might be thinking “then why quit?”, the answer to that is simply I’m not invested enough to actually read the last book to find out what happens. I quite liked the first book, but the second was (personally) such a waste of my time.. nothing happened and I was left more confused than I was excited to see how it all ended.

Snow Like Ashes Trilogy by Sara Raasch

I read the first book back in September and honestly I struggled making this decision as many people told me the trilogy gets better. But sadly again I just wasn’t invested in the story, and I had no attachment to any of the characters. It’s a shame because when I first heard of this trilogy I was in love with the concept of the world divided by seasons, and just look at the gorgeous covers!

5292557Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon

This is a case of my own stupidity.. I watched the first season of the adaptation and then months later read the book. The show did an excellent job at staying true to the book however, they stayed so true to the book all the suspense and surprise was taken away from my reading experience.

It’s such a long series that honestly I would rather watch the show and spend my time reading other big books I have my eyes on such as the Game of Thrones series and Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy.

Red Queen Quartet by Victoria Aveyard

One of the easier decisions I ever made was discontinuing this series. The concept was intriguing and I did read the first book, but I found it painstakingly slow and that not much happened to compel me further. There was only one character I even liked, Prince Maven.. that either says something disturbing about me or points out what was lacking in the whole book. For those who liked the book they’ll be happy to know that the last book is set for release February 2018.

Passenger Duology by Alexandra Bracken

Passenger was one of my most anticipated reads of 2016 and one I read way back at the start of the year too. I’ve been in an internal debate over finishing this duology all year long and I just decided that if it’s this much of a debate I clearly don’t want to read Wayfarer that badly. My biggest disappointment with this book was that the romance took precedence over the time-travelling adventure that was actually happening.

21414439The Witchlands by Susan Dennard

I am actually currently reading Truthwitch and going in I had heard many a mixed opinion regarding the series. I went in hoping to fall into the group of people who loved Truthwitch but sadly I fell into the other group. I’ve noticed that whenever people try to give a synopsis about the book they don’t talk about plot, all that’s mentioned it how amazing the friendship is and the fantastic magic system.. I’m sorry but that isn’t enough. 255 pages in and I still have no idea what the actual plot is meant to be about.


I know this can be viewed as a very controversial post.. but please keep in mind we all have those books we DNF or a series we stop reading for one reason or another, these are simply some of mine. What’s a series or trilogy you’ve recently DNF’d?

Leave a Reply

