The Princess Saves Herself in this One {Review}

30075802Synopsis:

the princess saves herself in this one is a collection of poetry about resilience. It is about writing your own ending.

From Amanda Lovelace, a poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration.

Received from NetGalley in
exchange for an honest review.

| GoodReads | Amazon | Book Depository |


Review:

Rating: ★★★★☆

I have been hearing “The Princess Saves Herself in this One” for some time now, never quite knowing what it was exactly and honestly never had the time to do even the quickest of Google searches to find out. When I saw it on NetGalley and found out it was poetry I decided to give it a try. I’m not very experienced in poetry, it was never a focus in my English class (which I’m sad to admit) so I’ll only be reviewing what I thought of it and not critiquing the writing or anything somebody more adept in these things could do a better job of critiquing.

The book is divided in four sections: “the princess, the damsel, the queen and you”, and while you could easily read each section separately I found each section flowed smoothly together. There was a clear progression of emotion and there were many sections that brought tears to my eyes, resonating deeply in my heart.

where
do all the
memories go,
the ones we
hide away
with
lock &
key yet
continue
to shape
us all the
s a m e

– did it really happen if I can’t remember it?

Most, actually almost all, of this book was in my opinion written as a catharsis for Amanda herself. But she thankfully decided to share her beautiful words and all of her deepest emotions with the world. My favourite part of the entire book was the part for “you” the reader, it had many of my favourite (and admittedly less sad) pieces.

if you ever
look at
your reflection
& feel the desire
to tell yourself

you’re not
good enough,
beautiful enough,
skinny enough,
curvy enough,

then I think
its about time
you smashed
that mirrior
to bits,

don’t you?

– use those fragments to make stepping-stones to your own self-love.

Disclaimer: the format of the above quotes is not exact as
it may be in ARCs or in the final published pages.

For my first foray in the world of poetry I’d say it was a success and I’ll definitely be interested in reading more pieces of poetry in the future.

2 thoughts on “The Princess Saves Herself in this One {Review}

Leave a Reply

