Most Anticipated Releases {2017}

The start of 2017 means a list of new releases! Here are 10 releases coming our way during the course of the year I’m excited for, sadly not all will be gracing my life with their physical presence immediately after release as I’m attempting to read more of the books I own and not add more to that number.


28818314RoseBlood by A.G. Howard
Publisher: Amulet Books
Release Date: January 10, 2017

A.G. Howard became a quick favourite with her Splintered trilogy, so when I heard she was releasing a new book I automatically added it without knowing anything. Then I heard it was to be a Phantom of the Opera retelling and I was instantly intrigued.


27827203Frostblood by Elly Blake
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: January 10, 2017

I’ve been seeing Frostblood all over social media for months and have heard an endless stream of praise surrounding Blake’s debut novel (I believe this is her debut anyways). I’m itching to give this a read.. so I may have to add this to my list of must have books I’m allowed to buy this year haha.

So happy to have found another Canadian author making big strides in the industry, I find they are few and far between in the YA category.. at least I don’t know of very many.


27883214Caraval by Stephanie Garber
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Release Date: January 31, 2017

Ever since I read The Night Circus back in 2015 I’ve been obsessed with finding books that take place in or center around a circus type event. I haven’t yet found any that fit what I’m looking for, but then I stumbled across Caraval. It sounds like it’ll be a bit darker than The Night Circus and I’m very excited for its release.


29939230A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab
Publisher: Tor Books
Release Date: February 21, 2017

I’m hard pressed to pick a book to be my most anticipated release of 2017.. I’m torn between quite a few books for that spot, A Conjuring of Light is definitely one of those books! I read the first two books in the Shades of Magic trilogy last year and loved them both so much I’m physically dying waiting for the last book to come out.


31677270Radio by Sophia E. Hanson
Publisher: Calida Lux Publishing
Release Date: March 2017

There’s no set date for the release of Vinyl’s sequel, but I’m still very much excited for it to come out. In 2016 I had the pleasure of reading a couple indie authors and of them all Sophia E. Hanson and her debut Vinyl topped the list. I highly recommend it if you like steampunk dystopians and are looking to support up and coming young authors.


23766634A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books
Release Date: May 2, 2017

A Court of Wings and Ruin is the second book vying for top billing as “most anticipated release”.. but sadly I think it will have to share the spot with A Conjuring of Light for now. The ACOTAR trilogy was yet another series I started/ caught up on in 2016 and the fact it’s ending come May is devastating. Thankfully there’s 3 other books that will take place in this world and follow new characters so it isn’t truly goodbye yet.


32890474The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember
Publisher: Duet Books
Release Date: May 4, 2017

Diversity was a big topic of discussion during 2016, which is why I’m surprised more people aren’t talking about The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember yet. From what I’ve heard about it so far it is a F/F bisexual Little Mermaid retelling with some Norse mythology involved. Just take my money, take it all.


30312891Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Release Date: May 23, 2017

The third book vying for the top spot in my heart.. you guessed it it’s Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. Are you really surprised? No, I didn’t think so haha.

Lord of Shadows is the much anticipated sequel to Lady Midnight and I’m once again dying to get my grubby little fangirl hands on this beauty. May is going to kill my soul with all of these releases coming out in one month.


Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco
Publisher: JIMMY Patterson
Release Date: September 19, 2017

Last year I had the immense pleasure to receive an ARC for Kerri’s debut novel Stalking Jack the Ripper and let me just say that book helped me keep my head on straight during my finals. So when the title and release date was announced yesterday for the second book I was beyond excited!

If like me you have an odd little obsession with Jack the Ripper then I highly recommend the first book. Kerri did a lot of research concerning the case and that truly shows throughout the novel.


The Lost Book of the White by Cassandra Clare & Wesley Chu
Publisher: Saga Press (Simon & Schuster)
Release Date: November 2017

To say I’m excited for this trilogy is a severe understatement.

Magnus Bane is probably one of my most favourite characters I’ve ever read about, and his charm spans across eleven books already. When I learned that Cassie was co-writing an adult trilogy featuring Magnus as the main character the speed at which I added this to my wishlist is insane. I need this book and waiting until November is going to be one very difficult task.


There are a couple other books coming out this year that would probably have made this list had I caught up on the series or read the first book in the series last year. I’m hoping to remedy this soon and so these books receive honourable mentions:

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date: March 7, 2017

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Release Date: June 13, 2017

Now I Rise by Kiersten White
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: June 27, 2017

2 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Releases {2017}

Leave a Reply

