Unread 2016 Releases

2016 has had many good releases, some I’ve managed to read.. others I bought but won’t get to before the year ends. As disappointing as that is we all know the struggle our TBRs cause, especially when new releases are involved. The following are just a few books that were released in 2016 that I bought and look forward to reading next year!


21414439Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

I have had this book since its release back in January.. haven’t even cracked it open, it probably still retains that new book smell. My reasons for having not read it is simply because of hype. So much hype was surrounding the release and once the masses read it I heard a lot of mixed reviews, so I’m holding off on it for awhile longer before picking it up.

Of course holding off is back firing because come January 2017 the sequel Windwitch is releasing and the hype will probably surface all over again.

23299512This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

I received This Savage Song in the July Owlcrate box my dear friend Cherry sent me as a birthday present. I’m still completely excited and interested in reading it but when I learned it is only a duology I thought I’d wait until closer to the release of Our Dark Duet before picking it up and devouring it.

Victoria Schwab become an instant favourite when I read A Darker Shade of Magic and I cannot wait to try her YA novels. I’ll admit to a bit of hesitance behind it though, as I think her more adult work may be more my thing but we shall see!

25944798The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

The last book in the Remnant Chronicles trilogy released back in August and I expected to hear a bit more about it, but somehow it managed to sneak under the radar (which I greatly appreciate). As much as I want to know how it ends I also don’t want it to, this is the essential problem with me and trilogies.

Still I’m very much excited to find out how it ends, and for once I’m happy to say there don’t seem to be many spoilers flying about.. but I could have just been hiding under a rock at the time. August was my last month of college and things were hectic in my little bubble of stress and anxiety over finals.

27417551Ninth City Burning by J. Patrick Black

One of my more unknown releases of 2016. Ninth City Burning is J. Patrick Black’s debut novel and as such it’s one I haven’t heard much of on BookTube or Bookstagram this year. Which (despite not actually having read it yet) makes it one of my favourite purchases in 2016.

I had the fullest of intentions of reading this immediately after buying it but.. well my TBR crashed on top of me and I ended up reading other things. I cannot wait to jump into this book early next year and hopefully from it will stem a new habit of buying books I don’t know much about before hand.

29236298Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

The sequel to the much loved science fiction hit Illuminae is my most recent and sadly last purchase of 2016. I surprise myself when I say I haven’t read it yet, and I did have it on my end of the year TBR list but it was postponed for books I was sent for review.

I don’t have to wait long to jump into this book because I plan on reading it first, the first book of 2017 will be the lovely Gemina (you read it here first people). Also I think if I don’t read this first thing in the new year it will probably get buried and left unread for another year.


I also just realized the colour order of the covers.. blue and red. No I did not plan this! I ordered them by release date, this is just a happy coincidence haha. What are some 2016 releases you bought and haven’t read yet? Let me know in the comments!

 

7 thoughts on “Unread 2016 Releases

Leave a Reply

