Whispers of Bedlam Asylum {Review}

Synopsis:

29898044In the heart of London is one of the darkest places in human history, Bedlam Asylum. The whispered rumors of brutality, fear, and hopelessness turn out to be only the beginning of its cruelty. One man is trying to protect his family by uncovering the worst of Bedlam’s hidden secrets. One woman is following in her late husband’s footsteps to try and help those that can’t help themselves. They will both find that looking for evil does not necessarily make one prepared to find it.

Was sent a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Review:

Rating: ★★★☆☆ {3.5}

Once again Sigmund finds himself having to do what he can to protect his family and to do that he has to do the unthinkable. With help from some familiar faces such as Chief Inspector Holmes and Richard Sutton he manages to enter Bedlam Asylum as a patient in the hopes he’ll uncover what secrets are being contained within.

I found this installment a bit faster paced than Steampunk Adventures was, whether that was due to the familiarization of the characters and Mark’s writing style or the difference in events were more up my alley I couldn’t tell you. That being said I think the addition of the independent and strong willed Charlotte was also a fantastic change of pace, I love when women characters aren’t dependent on the leading male character in a story.

My favourite aspect of the story was Bedlam Asylum itself; it was honestly not a place I would want to find myself for too long. However, I would have liked a little more development of the asylum. Places like that to me should have the feeling of being a living thing full of emotion and personality, sadly the characterization of Bedlam was a little lacking, it was there a little bit I just found myself wanting more.

Overall I enjoyed my time back in Victorian London, but if I could tell Sigmund one thing it would be to stay out of trouble and try to live a normal life haha. I would recommend this book for anyone who likes mysterious crimes, adventures in asylums and multiple narratives.

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.

 

Leave a Reply

