Doctor Who: The American Adventures {Review}

Synopsis:

30547445Travel through time and space with the Twelfth Doctor in these six brand new adventures, set in a host of locations across the US and eras from throughout US history.  

An invisible spacecraft turns up at the Battle of New Orleans, an alien presence is detected at the 1944 D-Day landings, and ghosts take over New York’s subway tunnels as they’re being dug in the early 1900s…  Filled with mystery, excitement and the Doctor’s trademark wit, these timey wimey stories will delight any Doctor Who fan.

Received an ebook of this book from
NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Review:

Rating: ★★★☆☆

As a Whovian I have been wanting to try a written story of Doctor Who for a long time now, so when I found Doctor Who: The American Adventures on NetGalley I was excited to have the chance to experience the Doctor in a new format.

Doctor Who: The American Adventures are six short stories written by various people, with that being said each story flowed nicely and I couldn’t even tell that various different writers wrote for the book. There was never a moment where I wanted to stop reading and come back to it later – honestly I would have read the entire thing in a day had I been left undisturbed – however, I found the stories to be too short to truly allow myself to get the adventurous feeling you expect from travelling with the Doctor. Each story was interesting and introduced some new alien races I was previously unaware of (I have only seen the reboot, no Classic Who as of yet) and they really just left me wanting more.

As for the Doctor… he didn’t feel like the Twelfth Doctor, and by that I mean the spark just wasn’t there in the dialogue or mannerisms. If it wasn’t said in the synopsis or even pictured on the cover there is very little to help the reader discern which Doctor is actually being read about, basically Twelve’s personality didn’t shine through the words.huggingOverall I enjoyed the adventures and the writing was well done, but the thing that was missing was Twelve’s personality. The most important part of a Doctor Who book for me has to be that the Doctor is THE DOCTOR… without the obvious eccentricities and mannerisms each regeneration has it’s simply hard to tell which Doctor was having these adventures.

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.
2 thoughts on “Doctor Who: The American Adventures {Review}

  1. I’ve been wanting to read a Doctor Who for ages! Its a bit disappointing the mannerisms didn’t shine through 😦 Also I haven’t watched any of the 12th doctor yet! I think I’m going to marathon the last few episodes of the 11th and then finally watch some new episodes XD Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was disappointed the mannerisms didn’t shine through but I won’t let it discourage me from reading other Doctor Who stories! 🙂

      That’s an excellent idea! Don’t forget to watch the 50th anniversary special before the last 11th episode 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

