The Unwanted {Review}

Synopsis:29208077

In the remote, eastern European town of Borslav there is St. Sebastian orphanage, a place where people discard their unwanted children. For the American, Blaire Baker, it’s the perfect place to volunteer her services. Paired with a cheerful volunteer nurse, Blaire is enthusiastic about the possibilities, but is quickly discouraged when she encounters the nefarious nature of the staff and the deplorable conditions of the facility and the children.

Disclaimer: I was sent a copy of the book for review. The following is a completely honest review. The Unwanted is a sequel, however it can be read as a stand alone story.


Review:

Rating: ★★★☆☆ {3.25}

Blaire Baker is a volunteer teacher who wants to do some good in the world so she heads off to Borslav to educate children in the local orphanage, St. Sebastian, for a year. Joining her is Travis Wells, a nurse, and together they try to make the best of what is a very difficult situation. When Blaire and Travis arrive they realize the children are worse off than they previously anticipated. The children are under fed, have little to no toys or personal belongings and all have various levels of education.

I’ll be honest and say adjusting to the writing style was a bit of a challenge in the beginning. By that I mean one second I would be reading some of a characters internal dialogue only to shift to a memory very abruptly. This caused me some confusion and a feeling of being ejected from what was happening in the present. I eventually adjusted to the writing style and the remainder of the book was enjoyable.

My favourite character was Travis, he was a little spark of comedy in an otherwise dark and creepy story. The only complaint I have is I wish a little more background was provided on the characters and the history of St. Sebastian orphanage. I think it would have helped greatly with attachment to the characters and provided more opportunity to see more of St. Sebastian other than its present conditions.

As for the plot sadly I can’t talk too much about it as I feel going into this book knowing very little is the way to approach it, however if you know me at all you will know it isn’t easy to scare or creep me out but The Unwanted had probably the one thing to successfully give me the creeps (and that is all I’ll say about it!).

Overall I did enjoy reading The Unwanted despite the few little things I mentioned, I think if you are looking for something creepy to read this Halloween this book is just the thing as Jean Nicole successfully infused just the right amount of creepiness into a relatively short book. My suggestion is reading this at night, in a completely quiet house 😉 see how long you last before getting a little paranoid.

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.
Leave a Reply

