A Court of Mist and Fury {Review}

Synopsis:

17927395Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world torn apart.

 


Review:

Rating: ★★★★★

A Court of Mist and Fury was released back in May and almost immediately I began reading rave reviews and endless praises. I don’t like adding to the hype surrounding a book, but ACOMAF is worthy of all the praise and obsession surrounding it. Sarah J. Maas is honestly some sort of evil genius – ACOMAF is well over 600 pages long and yet somehow she managed to make me feel like that simply wasn’t enough. I wanted more, so much more.

Where A Court of Thorns and Roses took place mainly in the Spring Court, A Court of Mist and Fury introduces you to a whole other Court within the world of Prythian. ACOMAF takes you to the Night Court and oh my High Lord let me tell you I want to live there. The way SJM describes the Night Court was akin to J.K. Rowling describing Hogwarts, it was so detailed and described so beautifully. It was a fantastic experience getting to see more of Prythian, from the Night Court and the Summer Court to so much more.

Along with extensive world building SJM added a whole new cast of characters, affectionately known as Rhysand’s Inner Circle and I adored them all. The Inner Circle is full of such amazing characters, each of them vastly different from the others I couldn’t get enough of them! Cassian quickly won me over with his quick witted comments and need to always have the last word in a discussion (which often didn’t happen), and despite his quiet nature Azriel had a way about him that was hard to ignore, he was intensely loyal and protective of his makeshift family. Morrigan was impossible not to adore, quick to smile and loved to pick on the boys she was destined to be loved by any reader. Then there’s Amren, admittedly difficult to like as she came across as cold and ruthless with an air of mystery. Somehow though she found a place in my heart nonetheless.

If you read my review of ACOTAR then you remember all I wanted for the sequel was more Rhysand and Lucien. One out of two isn’t bad, I didn’t get very much of Lucien (sadly) but I did get plenty of Rhysand! Basically ACOMAF was everything I wanted it to be and so much more, thank you Sarah for this incredible book ♥

I could go on and on about these characters and the plot all day long, but to do that I’d inevitably give away spoilers left and right so I’ll quit while I’m ahead. Trust me when I say you need to get into this series immediately, I promise you won’t regret it!!

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.
Leave a Reply

