10 Day TBR {VII}

Day 7: Movie Adaptations

We all love it when we hear a book is getting a movie adaptation… but that excitement is often quickly followed by nervousness and hesitation. Movie adaptations can be hit or miss sometimes, but I always love giving them a try. Starting by reading the book first (or trying to anyways), here a few books with movie adaptations (or soon to be adapted):

missperegrineposterMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
by Ransom Riggs

I don’t know much about this trilogy, but I’ve heard it is one of the most peculiar books ever written. I had seen Miss Peregrine’s around a couple years ago and admittedly walked right on past it because of the cover – I like a creepy book every now and again but at the time I wasn’t in the mood for something creepy. Not entirely sure how creepy it truly is, but I must read it before I see the movie. Are you a fan of the Peculiar Children, if yes are you excited or nervous for the movie adaptation?

Water for Elephantswater_for_elephants_poster
by Sara Gruen

I’ve actually already seen this movie adaptation (I know, for shame!) and I adored it, you can’t go wrong with an animal movie. Once I finished the movie I knew I had to read the book, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.. probably because I know I shouldn’t have seen the movie before reading the book 😦 when that happens I tend to prefer the movie more.

This is why I always try to read the book before seeing the movie adaptation so I can fully enjoy the book in all its glory.

book_thiefThe Book Thief
by Markus Zusak

Another case of seeing the movie before reading the book with this one I’m afraid… but again I absolutely adored the movie so it stands to reason that I will also enjoy the book right? The reason this little gem remains on my TBR is because I’m very rarely ever in the mood for a historical fiction book, despite historical fiction being a genre I enjoy reading when I do decide to pick one up.

The young lady who played Liesel was fantastic in the movie.

The Light Between Oceansthe-light-between-oceans-1-600x891
by M.L. Stedman

One thing you should know about me is I’m mildly obsessed with Michael Fassbender, so when I heard he was going to be in the movie adaptation of The Light Between Oceans I knew I had to see this movie. The book was already on my TBR when I stumbled upon this information so I’m not just interested in it because of the movie adaptation 😛 hehehe. If that was the case I wouldn’t bother reading the book, I’ll be honest.

It sounds like a potentially sad read, as if I need another tearjerker book/ movie in my life haha.

18712886Queen of the Tearling
by Erika Johansen

Apparently Emma Watson is set to star and direct the movie adaptation for Queen of the Tearling, I have to admit that while I have yet to read the book I think it will be a successful adaptation. Emma has previous experience portraying characters from a book (Hermione Granger anyone?!) so I think she knows how to stay true to a book while taking just the right sort of creative liberties. Adapting a book to screen can’t be easy and I think as readers we forget that some changes must be made to make the story work as a visual experience instead of an imagined one.


How many books with movie adaptations are on your TBR?

Seven days down, three days remaining in my 10 Day TBR series. I can hardly belive it! If you aren’t sick of me yet I imagine you will be by the end of our ten days together hehehe.

2 thoughts on “10 Day TBR {VII}

Leave a Reply

