10 Day TBR {VI}

Day 6: First in a Series

I love a duology, trilogy or series (the longer the better in most cases). As a result my TBR often ends up full of the first book in many different series that generally I never even purchase or borrow.. it’s honestly a horrible habit I need to get out of, but there are so many great looking series out there! These are just a few first books in a series I either already own, and or desperately wish I owned:

The Raven Boys17675462
by Maggie Stiefvater

This year The Raven Cycle series came to an end with the highly anticipated release of The Raven King.. and here I am unaware of just how amazing this series is because I haven’t read it yet. I don’t even OWN the first book in any format, and it pains me – to my very core it pains me. Everybody talks about Blue and her Raven Boys and I just want to be apart of the awesome too 😦 somebody remedy this tragedy and send me a hardback copy of The Raven Boys!! Please? I’ll love you forever β™₯

20578940The Iron Trial
by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

The Iron Trial is the first book in the Magisterium series co-written by Holly Black and Cassie Clare and is technically classified as a Middle Grade novel, but so was Harry Potter and Percy Jackson so I don’t see the sense in having such a label put on a book. I’m a huge fan of Cassandra Clare’s work and The Iron Trial is no exception to the fact, I just need to get my hands on a copy. Which edition do you prefer the hardback or the new paperback editions that were recently released?

Falling Kingdoms12954620
by Morgan Rhodes

Falling Kingdoms from what I have heard is a YA version of Game of Thrones. It apparently follows a fairly large cast of characters, causes much potential heartache and will most likely result in me tossing the book across the room. Sounds exactly like my type of book to be honest, and I already own the first four books in the series.. so what exactly am I waiting for? Well, you see I already have too many on-going series that I’d like to finish one before starting another.


17788681The Stars Never Rise
by Rachel Vincent

Immortals, soul eating demons? Uhhh.. hello, gimme that book! Oh wait, I already have a copy. The Stars Never Rise is another case of a book that simply just wants to be loved and read, but its wish doesn’t come true and she sits collecting dust waiting for the day I choose to give it my undivided attention 😦 who knows when that day will come.

The Stars Never Rise is the first book inΒ a duology. The sequel is titled The Flame Never Dies and was released August 16, 2016.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet24956528
by Becky Chambers

My friend Kate (InfinitelyNovel) says The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet gives off a very Firefly like feeling, that comment alone had me sold. I got incredibly lucky and found the eBook on sale for something ridiculously cheap like $1.99 (CDN) on Amazon back in July and wasn’t leaving it behind. I have high hopes for this book, and I cannot wait to get into it soon (hopefully.. maybe?). Why must TBRs get so ridiculously large that choosing what to read next becomes something akin to The Hunger Games – only one can survive!

18053060Dorothy Must Die
by Danielle Paige

Some concepts authors come up with are just genius, but in the case of Dorothy Must Die I’m simply blown away. How on Earth did Danielle Paige come up with the idea to make Dorothy a villain in this story?! I’m excited to see how this series progresses, and hopefully I will pick up the gem in the next couple of months.

I think Halloween is the perfect time to read it don’t you?

 

And I Darken30463345
by Kiersten White

I’ll be honest the first couple of times I read the synopsis for this book over on GoodReads I was left confused, and completely uninterested in picking it up. But then the lovely Christine (WeeReader) praised it up and down, she swore I’d love it. So without any further hesitation I picked up a copy, turns out I bought it a full week before the official release because my book store had it out on shelves early.

Naughty book store.. putting new releases out early.

 


How many first books in a series do you have patiently waiting for its turn to steal and break your heart?Β Thank you for continuing to come back day after day, there are only four days left! We’re almost done, and we haven’t even begun to make a dent in the treasures that lay in the depths of my TBR pile.

See you tomorrow for Day 7 of the 10 Day TBR series πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “10 Day TBR {VI}

  1. THE RAVEN BOYS YESSSS. I feel like I’ve hyped this up so much for you lol, don’t listen to me anymore xD Omg I really want to start The Iron Trial too! Anything by Holly Black is my fave ❀ I SAW The Flame Never Dies in B&N the other day and omg its beautiful. I immediately thought "so glad I bought the first book because of Lissa" hahaha. Can't believe its already day 7 xD really loving this series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

