Stalking Jack the Ripper {Review}

28962906Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.


Review:

Rating: ★★★★☆ {4.5}

During a stressful time of studying for finals and completing final assignments I had Stalking Jack the Ripper to escape the stress and boy did it ever keep me sane. If it hasn’t become abundantly clear in past reviews or possible conversations I have an obsessive-type personality and the mystery of Jack the Ripper is certainly something to obsess over.

Audrey Rose is a young woman born into a life of privilege but desired to apprentice for her Uncle to learn forensic medicine when suddenly murders start up and Scotland Yard approach her Uncle for assistance in studying the crime scenes and victims.

The entire novel had a murder-mystery vibe and a bit of a Sherlock/ Watson feel between our two main characters, Audrey Rose and Thomas, that I just couldn’t shake. Kerri created some fantastic characters, and there wasn’t a single one that fell flat for me. I thoroughly enjoyed Audrey Rose as a character, she was intelligent and a force to reckon with despite the limitations her gender imposed, however it was Audrey Rose’s partner, Thomas Cresswell, that I enjoyed reading about more. I found Thomas to be an irritating arrogant young man, but I cannot deny that underneath his arrogance and irritating ways he was charming.

Good characters are part of what I want in a book, I want to read complex characters. Ones that are good, or toe the line of being the villain. Kerri managed to write characters that are flawlessly split in half, I was left wondering whether I should trust certain characters or not and perhaps liking ones I shouldn’t have – that is the best part of SJTR, you should be wary of everybody.

During my time reading Stalking Jack the Ripper I had many theories, all of which proved to be wrong! It wasn’t until right at the end that I caught on to Kerri and the direction she was taking the novel. As somebody who is usually pretty good at predicting aspects of a story it was nice to be thrown for once and actually be somewhat surprised by the ending.

Stalking Jack the Ripper is Kerri Maniscalco’s debut novel, the first book in a trilogy, and will be released September 20th, 2016 – I highly recommend checking it out if you like murder-mysteries. For now I guess that means I have to wait until Kerri finishes writing book two.. for more with Audrey Rose and Thomas.


Dear Kerri;

I am beyond grateful for the ARC copy I was sent, and the opportunity to read and review your debut novel. I enjoyed our Twitter discussions we had about SJTR, Thomas and the sequel 😉 and I just know this is the first of many more books you will write in the future. 

PS: Kerri.. is there an ARC request list I can get my name on in advance? 😛

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.
4 thoughts on “Stalking Jack the Ripper {Review}

Leave a Reply

