Smut {Review}

Synopsis:

29381926What happens when the kink between the pages leads to heat between the sheets?

All Blake Crawford wants is to pass his creative writing course, get his university degree, and take over his dad’s ailing family business. What Amanda Newland wants is to graduate at the top of her class, as well as finally finish her novel and prove to her family that writing is a respectful career.

What Blake and Amanda don’t want is to be paired up with each other for their final project, but that’s exactly what they both get when they’re forced to collaborate on a writing piece. Since Amanda thinks Blake is a pushy asshole (with a panty-melting smirk and British accent) and Blake thinks Amanda has a stick up her ass (though it’s a brilliant ass), they fight tooth and nail until they discover they write well together. They also may find each other really attractive, but that’s neither here nor there.

When their writing project turns out to be a success, the two of them decide to start up a secret partnership using a pen name, infiltrating the self-publishing market in the lucrative genre of erotica. Naturally, with so much heat and passion between the pages, it’s not long before their dirty words become a dirty reality. Sure, they still fight a lot, but at least there’s make-up sex now.

But even as they start to fall hard for each other, will their burgeoning relationship survive if their scandalous secret is exposed? Or are happily-ever-afters just a work of fiction?


Review:

Rating: ★★★☆☆ {3.75}

New Adult isn’t a genre I am very familiar with, and what I have read in this genre all ended up as 2 star ratings but Smut won me over very quickly. Maybe that was because of the constant stream of nerdy references (from Lord of the Rings to Doctor Who) or possibly because Karina Halle is a Canadian author, either way I found Smut to be adorably nerdy, fun and even sexy at all the right times.  Which was a much needed change of pace because I was burning myself out with the fantasy YA I’ve been reading lately.

While I did like both Amanda and Blake (omg Blake!) there were similarities in character to Anastasia and Christian from 50 Shades of Grey however, I think that similarity can be a little difficult to avoid sometimes with the New Adult genre. That being noted I much preferred Amanda and Blake over Ana and Christian because while Amanda had her faults/ weaknesses she was by no means a pushover, and as for Blake.. he was admittedly headstrong and bossy but those very qualities were what made the pair such a great team.

I loved that the setting was Victoria, British Columbia instead of a city in the U.S. or somewhere in the U.K., it brought the story a little closer to home for me. I definitely felt the itch to go and explore BC after reading Smut, granted that itch has been there for quite some time already.

My only issue with it was the abrupt happily ever after at the end. It felt a little rushed for my liking but I was prepared for a happy ending of some kind and as a result I docked a quarter of a star off my rating.


Overall I adored Smut and I may just have to check out more of Karina Halle’s work. We Canadian girls have to stick together Karina! 😉 I wish you all the best in future books.

PS: Where can I get a Blake of my own?

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.
Leave a Reply

