6 Months In

It’s officially July, which means that half the year is already over. I can hardly believe it myself, in a month and a half I will be (hopefully *fingers crossed*) graduating from college. I certainly won’t miss the stress of assignments, tests, exams, assessments and final practicals that’s for sure!

I thought it would be fun to go through my reads of the year so far and see how many of them were 5 star reads. In the end I’ll be tagging a couple friends because I’m curious to see how many 5 stars were given by other people 😀


17997488The Too-Clever Fox
by Leigh Bardugo

The Too-Clever Fox is a companion short story of Leigh’s Grisha trilogy, and just like that trilogy I absolutely adored the story. It had a dark edge to it that compelled me to continue reading and find out what happens to Koja.

Ever since I read Leigh’s Grisha trilogy I have been in love with her writing, and this companion story was no exception. I wrote a slightly more detailed review for The Too-Clever Fox and I can’t recommend the trilogy and this short story highly enough.


A Darker Shade final for IreneA Darker Shade of Magic
by V.E. Schwab

What can I say that I haven’t already said about A Darker Shade of Magic.. from the cover to the characters, right down to the bones of its plot ADSOM was spectacular from start to finish. Funny how I seem to find some of my favourite trilogies when I buddy read with Cherry (Read Forevermore).. first the Grisha trilogy and now the Shades of Magic trilogy!

Again I wrote a review for A Darker Shade of Magic and I have to say it is one of my favourite reviews I’ve written so far. I can’t wait to continue this buddy read and trilogy later this year hopefully 😉


16096824A Court of Thorns and Roses
by Sarah J. Maas 

This year I started both the Throne of Glass series and A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy, shockingly I loved ACOTAR far more than I did Throne of Glass. Ignore everything you heard about ACOTAR and just give it a chance, trust me when I say it will be the best (and worst) decision you may ever make.

Why I haven’t devoured A Court of Mist and Fury yet is beyond me.. but to tide you over until I do read it I have a review for A Court of Thorns and Roses, however I probably sound like a full on obsessive fan girl 😛


25494343Lady Midnight
by Cassandra Clare

Oh Lady Midnight.. I have tried and failed to write a review for this book because all I do is gush and there’s no organization of my thoughts that I refuse to publish what I have in my drafts. Honestly I’m not surprised, Lady Midnight was my number one anticipated book for the first half of the year.

Cassandra Clare was the first author I deemed as auto-buy and she surpassed my expectations with Lady Midnight. Seriously, where is the Doctor and his TARDIS when I need him?! I need Lord of Shadows right now 😥


I know my collection of 5 star reads may seem small to some people but I decided this year I was going to be a little more reserved with my gift of the fifth star 😛 which is why out of the 16 books/ novellas I have read so far this year I only have four that received 5 stars.

I’d love to see how many books you’ve given that shiny fifth star, naturally if you’ve read like twenty five  5 star books it is completely up to you how many you list! The following people are just a few I’d love to see do this make-shift tag if they have the time 😉

Cherry at Read Forevermore
Christine at WeeReader
Maggie at In a Reading World
Taylor of TaylorMaeMarie

and Jordan at FridaysAndBooks

19 thoughts on “6 Months In

Leave a Reply

