The Infinite Sea {Review}

Disclaimer: The following is a synopsis and review for the second book in Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave trilogy. If you have not yet read The 5th Wave I would recommend doing so before continuing as it may contain spoilers from the first book.


Synopsis:

18249281How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.


Review:

Rating: ★★★☆☆

After reading The 5th Wave, despite it’s ending (which you may recall I wasn’t a fan of) I was very much excited to continue with the trilogy, however it did take me quite awhile to get around to picking it up. With that being the case there were a few things when it came to terminology (ie. TEDs is the best example I can give) that left me a little confused.

I was also thrown a bit with the book starting with a narration from Ringer instead of Ben or Cassie. Personally I didn’t like this addition at first because as the reader you spent the entire first book with Cassie or Ben as your main voices and all of a sudden you are meant to adjust to Ringer’s voice. As a side character I quite liked Ringer and I agree with the decision to bring her more into the story and allow more of a development to happen, but as a main narrator I found her to be a bit stuck up and like Cassie I just wanted to punch her in the face. Later on in the book with a little bit of character back story and development (with some help from Razor) I grew used to having Ringer’s voice in my head, and even grew to like her a bit more than I previously imagined I would.

As much as I agreed with the decision to give more depth to other characters I felt like Ringer was getting most of the development and others, like Cassie and Ben, were neglected a bit. They fell a little flat for me and honestly I just wanted more growth from the rest of the crew, and less of Cassie’s obsession with Evan’s eyes.

My main issue with The Infinite Sea was that nothing really happened (from my point of view anyways) that couldn’t have been combined with the last book and simply make this a duology. I honestly believe that the book fell into the “second book slump” category for me, despite that potential plot twist that Yancey threw in there. Admittedly I am a little confused concerning that though, so I’m sincerely hoping the third book can clear that up for me! If what was said is actually true that is an excellent plot twist, and one I did not see coming.


Overall while The Infinite Sea probably could have been combined with the last book in the trilogy and the slow start I experienced, I did quite enjoy the book. I do desperately need to get my hands on The Last Star and complete this story. I am excited to see how Rick Yancey has chosen to end the trilogy.

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.
3 thoughts on “The Infinite Sea {Review}

  1. I read The 5th Wave way back in Jan and still havent picked up the rest of the trilogy yet 🙈 I think, like you, a lot of people have mixed feelings about this book which is a pity because I really enjoyed the first one

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

