A Court of Thorns and Roses {Review}

Synopsis:

16096824When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.


Review:

Rating: ★★★★★

I honestly don’t know what to say about A Court of Thorns and Roses.

This book has been sitting in my library (yes, I call my book collection a library) since last year when it was released, but for some insane reason never picked it up until now. I hadn’t heard much about it outside of how it was a Beauty and the Beast retelling and that the first half was quite slow/ boring. I loved the plot – it was very close to the story of Beauty and the Beast as I remember it, while being able to be unique and original at the same time.

It’s rare to find a YA (Young-Adult) book where the leading male character isn’t automatically loved, but ACoTaR is that rare exception. As hard as it is for me to believe now I remember a time at the beginning of the book where I wanted to reach into the pages and smack Tamlin off his horse, but by the end all that changed. During that phase where I disliked Tamlin his emissary/ friend Lucien brought me back with his wit and sarcasm. If you know me at all or have read enough of my reviews you’ll know that witty, sarcastic banter makes my day.

As far as Feyre is concerned I wasn’t too impressed with her for the majority of the book. It’s not that I disliked her for any particular reason but I couldn’t pinpoint anything that helped her stand out of the crowd; I spent the majority of the book wanting more Lucien, Tamlin and Rhysand.. ok mostly Lucien and Rhysand. ALRIGHT! Mostly Rhysand. He was just this dark and curious character that I did not get enough of, thankfully from what I hear there’s plenty of him in the sequel (A Court of Mist and Fury)!!

If it wasn’t obvious I adored ACoTaR so much, I can’t believe I waited this long to pick it up and I could not recommend it more. Definitely one of my favourite reads so far this year, without my even knowing it Sarah J. Maas sucked me into a world I didn’t want to leave; I honestly could have stayed in Prythian forever if I was allowed.

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.
5 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses {Review}

Leave a Reply

