Maze Runner {Book vs Movie}

7805064Synopsis:

“If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.”

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers–boys whose memories are also gone.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out–and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.


Review:

Rating: ★★★☆☆

Admittedly I had seen the movie before reading the book (twice actually) and because of that the differences between the two were practically wearing a neon sign saying “look at me, I’ve been changed!!” I won’t bother listing all the changes they made from book to movie, but a good chunk of them were changes I preferred if I’m honest. One of those changes being a particular talent Teresa and Thomas possessed that to be honest I didn’t think was entirely necessary. Overall I found the book to be a bit slow and dragged right up until the end when *spoiler alert* they begin their escape of the maze. One, admittedly unnecessary but interesting, piece of information you don’t learn in the movie is that the characters names aren’t truly their own, but nicknames given to them from The Creators; furthermore, that some of them are named after intelligent people in history. (ie. Thomas = Thomas Edison, Newt = Isaac Newton).

I am quite interested to see where the trilogy goes from here, despite being spoiled for something earlier this year (that try as I might I cannot forget about). I’m curious to see if that unnecessary talent of Teresa and Thomas’s actually has a purpose or if it is as useless as I already think it is (apologies for the harsh opinion on this fact).


Review:

Rating: ★★★★☆

maze-runner-posterAs mentioned in my (short) review of the book there were quite a few changes made for the movie adaptation of The Maze Runner, and most of them were changes for the better. I personally found the alterations in character behaviour/ personality, the operation of the maze and even the order in which events took place made more sense in the movie as opposed to how they were in the book.

The only exception to this is Teresa, I found her next to useless in the movie meanwhile in the book she had a larger role and even more of a personality. She was sarcastic and didn’t take any of the boys crap, the only sign of this in the movie was when she tossed rocks and things down at the boys from atop the tower.


All things considered I much preferred the movie over the book, whether that is because I had seen it twice before I got around to reading the book or simply because it is better I don’t entirely know. I will be continuing with the trilogy, considering I got the box set for Christmas last year and my brother would probably kill me with it if I don’t haha.

Have you read Maze Runner? Which did you prefer, book or movie?

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.
Leave a Reply

