This or That {Tag}

The lovely Taylor Mae Marie tagged me to do the “This or That” tag, which as she pointed out is essentially a literary version of “Would You Rather”. I’ve always been curious as to what people choose when you are given two choices you maybe cannot pick between, so let’s get into the tag and see what choices I’ve been force to make!

Would you rather only read trilogies or stand-alones?

I have go with trilogies over stand-alones. I do like a stand-alone every now and then, but I almost always without fail wish for more once I finish the book. One book in a world any author creates is simply not enough for me, give me a minimum of three books in that world and as much as I won’t want to leave it I will be happy.

Would you rather only read male or female authors?

Both. But in all honesty my personal library consists of mostly female authors, and that is completely unintentional. I read what I like or what gets recommended to me the most and that just happens to land in the favour of women authors. If you know of any male authors you think I should read bring on the suggestions!

Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

Being in Canada we don’t have a Barnes and Noble we have Chapters/ Indigo Books but being a person that prefers hardbacks over paperbacks finding older releases in their hardback editions is difficult in stores so then I solely rely on those online shopping excursions. That being said I do love when I get to venture into a book store and look at all the physical books in all their glory, just begging to be brought home.

Would you rather books be made into television shows or movies?

Hmm.. trick question. I’ve had the pleasure of witnessing one of my favourite series (The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare) be made into both a television show and a movie, and personally neither were done exactly right. That being said if an adaptation of any kind is done correctly I will jump on either choice.. if – like with Game of Thrones – it is done correctly.

Would you rather only read five pages per day or five books per week?

Five pages a day. I feel like those who read five books in a week don’t always get the full enjoyment out of the books they’ve read. Now I’m not saying that is true by any means.. I just know for me personally last year I read so many books so quickly I didn’t fully enjoy them as much as I thought I would going into the books. Also with my schedule right now reading five pages a day would be glorious since I don’t have much time to read due to finals.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

Well.. I started my blog with the main intention of at some point down the line reaching a level of getting asked if I would like to receive an ARC copy of a book. I haven’t quite reached that level yet but I am enjoying myself until then. I have met some fantastic people, and read some amazing books along the way.

Would you rather be a librarian or bookseller?

Either one would be a great job in my opinion. But both professions have their negative aspects.. as a librarian my OCD with organization would be in overdrive; have you ever seen how unorganized libraries are these days? As a bookseller that store discount would be perfect but guaranteed I’d end up spending most of my pay on books every week.

Would you rather only read your favorite genre or every genre but your favorite?

You are intentionally trying to torture me aren’t you? I’d have to go with only reading my favourite genre.. I love my Fantasy books, and honestly that genre covers so much variety on it’s own that I could never get bored. However, the only downside is that I may end up in frequent reading slumps if I only read fantasy books.

Would you rather only read e-books or physical copies?

If you had asked me this question last year I would have said without hesitation physical copies, but now that I have read quite a few books through my semi-newly acquired Kindle I have found the benefits to reading eBooks. But I still have to go with physical copies because lets face it nothing beats having a book in your hands.

I have been considering doing a blog post on eBooks vs physical books, let me know if you would be interested in reading something about that in the future. If you are I’ll plan on writing up a post in the future!

 

2 thoughts on “This or That {Tag}

Leave a Reply

