The Assassin’s Blade {Review}

18594430Synopsis:

Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom’s most feared assassin. Though she works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin’s Guild, Celaena yields to no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam.

When Celaena’s scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself acting independently of his wishes—and questioning her own allegiance. Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying Arobynn’s orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they hope to escape Arobynn’s clutches—and if they fail, they’ll lose not just a chance at freedom, but their lives…

A prequel to Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers listeners a deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her enthralling—and deadly—world.


Review:

Rating: ★★★★☆

The Assassin’s Blade is a bind up of five novellas in Sarah J Maas’ Throne of Glass series, and there is a mixed opinion on when exactly you should read them all. I personally chose to read them before diving into the series, which was in some ways a poor decision on my part. It took quite some time for me to even begin warming up to Caelena and honestly by the end of the book while I had warmed up to her I still don’t love her as much as the hype surrounding this series suggests. I am keeping an open mind about the infamous Caelena Sardothien, and sincerely hope the as the series progresses my opinion of her improves.

At first I considered doing a separate review for each novella within the bind up but due to unforeseen circumstances it has been quite a lot longer since I read the book that while I remember each novella I would struggle forming thoughts that go beyond saying “I didn’t like this novella..” 😛 oops!

However, overall The Assassin’s Blade did earn the four shiny stars it received. The highlight of the bind up was that each novella was connected to the previous one, by that I mean there is a solid plot throughout the novellas. This assisted in increasing my enjoyment of the novellas greatly and I thoroughly enjoyed the story despite not having much connection with any of the characters. I say that.. but it is partially a lie as there was a character I did not see coming.

-SPOILERS AHEAD, READERS YE BE WARNED-

I normally try to avoid spoilers in my reviews, but in this instance I have to mention the following spoiler. Sam Cortland was a surprise character as I didn’t fully expect to like him as much as I inevitably did by the end. The reason being that I knew going into the novellas that Sam dies eventually. I didn’t know when, and I had no idea how.. so when it happened I was betrayed by emotions and I may have shed a few tears. Basically I had to step away from the book to mourn the death of a fictional character.

-SPOILERS OVER, MOVE ALONG-

I would recommend giving The Assassin’s Blade a read if you like Sarah J Maas’ writing or the Throne of Glass series as a whole. I would suggest reading at least the first book in the series – if you haven’t started it yet – before reading the novellas however. Might help with connecting to the main character a bit more.

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.
2 thoughts on “The Assassin’s Blade {Review}

  1. I read this after I read Heir of Fire. Surprisingly, I found a lot of references to Sam and what exactly happened to him in HoF and QoS so I found it better to read. I still don’t think one needs to read the novellas (personally, I don’t understand why novellas are becoming a big thing).

    Liked by 1 person

    • </3 aww.. I am glad to hear that the events that occurred with Sam isn't just forgotten about! I look forward to continuing the series.

      I enjoy reading novellas purely because it allows me to stay with the characters a little bit longer 😛 but I agree I don't understand why all of a sudden novellas are a big thing either.

      Like

Leave a Reply

