Cinder {Review}

Synopsis:

11235712Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Review:

Rating: ★★★★☆

Cinder had all the makings of the first 5-star rating book of 2016.. however there are a couple areas where it fell just short of that fifth star. However that being said it’s also the first book that I finished within a week, which with my schedule is frankly astonishing.

Like many readers I thoroughly enjoy a good fairytale retelling, Cinder is (if you couldn’t tell by the cover) is a retelling of Cinderella.. with a few minor changes to the story you may know and adore. What I enjoyed most about this retelling was how certain qualities were reminiscent of Cinderella while allowing you to enjoy the story Marissa Meyer is trying to tell. I found myself quickly immersed in New Beijing and simply wanting to explore more of this world that Meyer is just beginning to flesh out, to put it simply I didn’t want to put the book down.

The characters fell a little short for me, I just wasn’t growing attached to any of them as the story progressed. I didn’t sympathize for Cinder.. partially because I didn’t fully despise her stepmother and only one of her stepsisters was a snotty little brat. Once again I predicted the “plot twists” within the first few chapters, personally the first reveal happened too early and led to an obvious prediction of the second reveal.

Prince Kai.. while he was a charming character he was very nearly your cookie-cutter prince. Refusing to take no for an answer, and teasingly using his Prince status when somebody dares to try, I’m sorry Kai but you need to step up your game if you want to make my Fictional Boyfriends list :P.

I was thoroughly intrigued by the Lunars and Queen Levana, looking forward to getting more from our villain of the story.. I’ve heard she’s quite hated, giving Cersei Lannister a run for her money.

Overall I enjoyed Cinder, and fully intended to continue with The Lunar Chronicles in time. Sadly my lack of attachment to the characters, especially Prince Kai, and the all too predictable plot twists knocked off that last shiny star. Highly recommend for those in a reading slump and fans of fairytale retellings!

Disclaimer: The synopsis above was provided by GoodReads.
Leave a Reply

