A to Z Bookish Survey {Tag}

I am alive! I know you’ve probably been wondering what happened to me lately, school, school happened. There will be a episode rant for episode 4 of Shadowhunters coming soon, I may end up combining it with episode 5 this week so keep an eye out for that!

During my procrastination from studying I ventured off to BookTube for a bit and saw Sophie’s Series did a video for the “A to Z Bookish Survey” tag and thought it was brilliant, so I’m doing the blog equivalent of it for you today! Here we go.


Author you’ve read the most books from:

Without a doubt the author I’ve read the most books from is Cassandra Clare, and that’s only including books related to Shadowhunters.. I haven’t even got to reading the Iron Trials yet.

Best Sequel Ever:

This one is tricky.. I’d have to go with Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo. One obvious reason is a certain pirate I adore, Nikolai ❤ obviously. But it was also just a great sequel in a trilogy I flew through last year.

Currently Reading:

Currently I am reading Vinyl by Sophia Elaine Hanson, and it is fantastic, You’ll be getting a review when I finish so watch out for that!

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Honestly I don’t really have anything to drink while I read, if I do it’s often just water.

E-reader or Physical Book?

Physical book, but E-Readers have their advantages too. May do a blog post on this in the future if you’re interested, comment down below if you are.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Oh god.. uhh.. honestly I probably would have dated a guy like Maven from Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. You know.. the type that gets close to you just to shatter your heart into a million pieces? Only fictional character I could think of honestly 😛

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell for sure. When I first heard of Carry On my first thought was that it would be terrible or just alright but nothing special. Wrong I was totally wrong. Baz ❤ I just need more Baz in my life alright!! Check out my review if you haven’t yet.

Hidden Gem Book:

I’ll have to go with Vinyl by Sophia Elaine Hanson again for this one.. and I won’t go to much into detail about why (yet anyways) but honestly if you haven’t read it yet you should.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

Probably last year when I re-read To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I learned that sometimes you just aren’t the right age or in the right point in your life for certain books and that there’s the rare book that you should consider giving a second chance.

Just Finished:

The last book I finished was Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. I did a review on the book if you haven’t read it yet and are looking for a spoiler free opinion.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

I’ll give any genre a fair shot at impressing me, but I have to say my least favourite genre (despite how often I go back to it) is Contemporary. I find most are the same cookie-cutter plots and are rarely anything special.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

The longest book I’ve read would have to be without a doubt A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin. Which for those of you who don’t know is the second book in Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series AND is 1007 (really only 969 pages, the rest is an appendix).

Major book hangover because of:

I wouldn’t call it a “book hangover” more like a massive reading slump, but A Game of Thrones (first book in A Song of Ice and Fire series) caused me to enter a black hole of despair because I jammed a 835-ish page book in two weeks of reading. I don’t recommend that especially for this series.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Zero. I own precisely no bookcases. 😦

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

I’m not against re-reading books, but in all honesty I haven’t read very many books more than once. I’ve read Wither by Lauren DeStefano and To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee twice. There are many books I’d love to re-read eventually.

Preferred Place To Read:

Anywhere quiet where music, people talking or the television won’t distract me from reading. I cannot read while there is some form of communication happening.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

tumblr_mb89hrrre11qg7xnco1_500

Originally I was going to choose one of the many amazing Dumbledore quotes, but then I remembered this Luna Lovegood quote. Luna is my favourite character in Harry Potter so it’s only right I quote her here.

Reading Regret:

Not reading the Harry Potter series growing up. I have finally read (and loved) the series, I just took the long way around to get there.

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series):

Uhh.. I’ll have to go with the Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin. I have read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer but have yet to finish the trilogy. Hopefully this year.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll is my only true favourite book of all time, a contender however is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Anything Shadowhunter related. Honestly, if you haven’t noticed I talk about it quite a lot. The only other thing I mention more than Shadowhunters is without a doubt Doctor Who.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare and The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson.

Worst Bookish Habit:

I don’t really have bad bookish habits.. but I am a little too overprotective of my books. I refuse to lend them out to people for fear they will be returned bent or damaged in some way. Honestly I need to learn how to chill over the condition of my books.

X Marks The Spot (start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book):

The 27th book on my “shelf” is Insurgent by Veronica Roth.

Your latest book purchase:

The last book (ok books) that I bought were Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes and The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent 🙂

Zzz-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY too late):

I don’t really stay up too late reading because I learned a long time ago I never remember anything I read when I’m tired. But a book I would have stayed up late reading if I could would have been The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, I never wanted to leave the Circus.


I hope you liked this little tag, I hadn’t posted in a while and thought this would be a fun change over doing a Shadowhunter Episode 4 rant post. If you choose to do this tag yourself I’d love to see it! 😀

Leave a Reply

