Shadowhunters {Pilot}

shadowhunters2b-2bnew2bkey2bart

Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments made it’s television debut on January 12th 2016 on Freeform (formerly known as ABC Family). From what I’ve seen on Twitter since the premiere the show has mixed opinions. Some thought it was amazing, while others.. were left more than a little bit peeved with the shows outcome. Having watched quite a few shows from the pilot episode I’m of the opinion you can’t judge something entirely off one hour long (45 minute without commercials) episode. That being said I’m not without thoughts and opinions, my plan with the series was to attempt weekly blog posts on the newest episode (hopefully without spoilers, if possible). Let’s get into it then yea?!


Episode 1: The Mortal Cup

Before the series even began filming I was more than a little hesitant with the actors chosen to play characters I love and even in some cases imagine as my best friend. After seeing the pilot episode (admittedly I watched it twice in one day, don’t judge me) I can say I’m less nervous about the band of actors we’ve been given. Still not completely sold on Harry Shum Jr as the High Warlock of Brooklyn, Magnus Bane, however I think with time I will grow to accept and adore him as my favourite warlock. There are quite a few characters and I don’t imagine you want to spend an hour reading about my opinion on each one, so I’ll give one more honorable mention to my baby Alec!screen-shot-2015-10-08-at-10-32-37-pm

Matthew Daddario, the absolutely stunning specimen chosen to bring Alexander Lightwood to life, in my opinion was the perfect choice. Yes I am more than a little bias, I am majorly crushing on Matt (sadly from afar.. very afar) BUT even with the little bit of screen time he was given it was like Alec came off the page for me.


Obviously it’s a little known fact that pilot episodes are full of things for people to pick apart, and being a book to television adaptation makes Shadowhunters a little easier to find the faults. I know this to be true because even I managed to find a couple things that bug me more than I wish they did. I don’t think this is a spoiler, unless you’ve neglected to read the book series (which you should get on that right away), but the Shadowhunter’s main weapon is a seraph blade. To activate the weapon in the books an angel’s name had to be spoken to bring forth the power of the angels in the sword-like object. In the show however it is almost like a lightsaber and they come to life at the mere touch of a Shadowhunter. Granted that saves time in the midst of a life or death battle.

The only other thing that annoyed me was the scene directly inside the Institute before Jace, Izzy and Alec left for the Pandemonium club. While reading the books I got the impression that the Institute was basically resident free other than our main group of characters (and the Lightwood’s parents) but the show had the Institute bustling with other Shadowhunters. Also it was very modernized with fancy tech and a Batman-esque weapons wall, whereas I imagined it a little less high tech and a little more.. gothic.

Overall I did quite enjoy the pilot episode of Shadowhunters and I am very excited to see where this new adaptation will take the series I know and love in episodes to come. I hope you’ll continue to join me in what is basically just an excuse to let my Shadowhunter pride out on a weekly basis.. I can’t promise the posts won’t get longer as the weeks progress.

Shadowhunters can be found on Freeform Tuesday’s at 9pm ESTΒ or the next day on Netflix.
2 thoughts on “Shadowhunters {Pilot}

  1. Hehe you would totally include a picture of Alec. I don’t remember the movie that much but I really like the cast for the tv show. And I totally need to finish reading the first book, but the whole saying the angel’s name would have been really cool! I would have liked to see that, it’s a shame they changed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • πŸ˜€ I’m nothing if not consistent with my adoration towards fictional characters/ actors!! The movie annoyed me, they completely butchered the ending (which is why they couldn’t have managed to continue the film franchise). YOU NEED TO CONTINUE THE BOOKS! For me.. please?!

      Like

Leave a Reply

