Warm Bodies {Review}

Synopsis:

9653492R is a young man with an existential crisis–he is a zombie. He shuffles through an America destroyed by war, social collapse, and the mindless hunger of his undead comrades, but he craves something more than blood and brains. He can speak just a few grunted syllables, but his inner life is deep, full of wonder and longing. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse, but he has dreams.

After experiencing a teenage boy’s memories while consuming his brain, R makes an unexpected choice that begins a tense, awkward, and strangely sweet relationship with the victim’s human girlfriend. Julie is a blast of color in the otherwise dreary and gray landscape that surrounds R. His decision to protect her will transform not only R, but his fellow Dead, and perhaps their whole lifeless world.

Scary, funny, and surprisingly poignant, Warm Bodies is about being alive, being dead, and the blurry line in between.

Review:

Rating: ★★★★☆

Don’t feed me to the zombies.. but I saw the movie first. Ok I’ve seen the movie at least twice and I hadn’t read the book before either viewing.

Honestly when you read the synopsis about Warm Bodies your first thought is probably “right.. ok this is going to be terrible”.  That was my thought too!! A zombie having an existential crisis, seriously? But it works. There is a raw sense of honesty hidden in this book that surprised me while reading. R’s desire for more in his undead life is true for all of us, it just hopefully won’t take a zombie apocalypse for us to learn that we don’t have to just shuffle through life like zombies.

My one complaint about Warm Bodies is that R’s inner vocabulary was a little advanced and I feel like it wasn’t entirely necessary for the reader to understand that R is conscious despite being a zombie. I found myself disliking Julie despite her being half the focus but Isaac Martin made up for that with Perry’s backseat commentary through the last half of the book. It was a unique addition that gave us a peek behind the curtain of a character we didn’t get the opportunity to know before his abrupt departure.

I will admit that having seen the movie first I found I preferred the few changes they made over the original concept written in the book, so I recommend if you want to read this avoid the movie and go in free of formed opinions on the story.

In case you aren’t already aware – I know I wasn’t -Isaac Martin is writing and releasing a sequel to Warm Bodies entitled “The Burning World” and it’s due for release August 9th 2016! Personally I’m excited to see what R gets up to after the events that went down in Warm Bodies.

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.

 

Leave a Reply

