Red Queen {Review}

Synopsis:

22328546This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart …

Review:

Rating: ★★★☆☆

Red Queen was a cover buy for me despite having heard mixed reviews, which is why it took me so long to pick this up and form my own opinion. Personally I found it to be a slow burn.. a very slow burn. I thought some of the events that happened were lacking the shock factor or ability to steal my attention completely. I found myself waiting for that moment where I just had to keep reading and find out what happens to the characters and honestly that just never happened for me.

As far as characters go there was only one I found myself enjoying.. and sadly due to spoilers I can’t even explain why, the rest were average at best. I had no attachment to Mare in the slightest and considering she is our reluctant heroine I found I didn’t worry too much about her. Queen Elara is probably one of the only characters I wanted to push into a volcano and cackle like the Mad Hatter while she fell.. trust me when I say she is a terrible person (kudos to the author for superbly creating her).

I know it sounds like I have nothing but complaints about Victoria Aveyard’s debut novel but that’s not entirely true! I quite liked that the plot wasn’t romance driven in the slightest and even though it was quite a slow burning read I never found that the story dragged on. I am very much looking forward to the sequel Glass Sword (due for release February 9th 2016) I expect it will be full of improvement across the board!

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Red Queen {Review}

  1. I loved that this book wasn’t romance driven too! And I have high hopes that Glass Sword will be better ^-^ Mare was mehhh also lol. Besides having a cool name, she’s a forgettable main character lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

