Insanity {Review}

Synopsis:

18910286After accidentally killing everyone in her class, Alice Wonder is now a patient in the Radcliffe Lunatic Asylum. No one doubts her insanity. Only a hookah-smoking professor believes otherwise; that he can prove her sanity by decoding Lewis Carroll’s paintings, photographs, and find Wonderland’s real whereabouts. Professor Caterpillar persuades the asylum that Alice can save lives and catch the wonderland monsters now reincarnated in modern day criminals. In order to do so, Alice leads a double life: an Oxford university student by day, a mad girl in an asylum by night. The line between sanity and insanity thins when she meets Jack Diamond, an arrogant college student who believes that nonsense is an actual science.

Review:

Rating: ★★★★☆

When I stumbled upon this Alice in Wonderland retelling it was instantaneous love, from the absolutely stunning cover to the simple fact it’s an Alice in Wonderland retelling. However it did take me quite awhile to get around to reading it – readers around the world know the struggle that is a huge TBR list! – but when I finally did get around to it I wasn’t disappointed.

Insanity is the beginning of the Mad in Wonderland series by Cameron Jace and a unique retelling, it takes the curious madness that is Alice in Wonderland and adds a crime thriller aspect, which I wasn’t expecting in the slightest. You get the same characters we all know and love, from the Caterpillar to Alice herself, however I will say you should prepare for a few unexpected alterations in these characters because they aren’t exactly as you may remember from Lewis Carroll’s original story.

Now you may be asking “Why did you rate it four stars if you loved it so much?” one reason is throughout the book I kept seeing tiny little errors in spelling or missed spaces between words. That being said I didn’t fault the story in the slightest for these odd mistakes considering Insanity is independently published and it is expected to find a few missed corrections. The biggest reason for my four star rating is I found the story a little too fast paced in that I wasn’t given time to fully immerse myself in Alice’s world, before I knew it the book was over and I was left thinking the only thing one can think when reading an Alice retelling “..curiouser and curiouser.”

My curiosity leaves me with only one choice really.. and that’s to take a tumble down the rabbit hole that is this series and continue on with Figment! I can also say that it’s going to be a goal of mine to add these stunning books to my ever-growing collection of Alice themed books.

Psst.. Cameron.. can you hook a Mushroomer up with a set?

DISCLAIMER: THE SYNOPSIS ABOVE WAS PROVIDED BY GOODREADS.

 

3 thoughts on “Insanity {Review}

Leave a Reply

