Ruin and Rising {Review}

Warning: I recommend not reading this synopsis if you have not yet read the previous two books in the series. May contain spoilers.

Synopsis:

The capital has fallen.14061957

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

Review:

Rating: ★★★★★

Ruin and Rising is the final installment in The Grisha trilogy by the mad genius that is Leigh Bardugo and I have to say it was a fantastic end to what quickly became one of my favourite trilogies. I won’t lie when I tell you I was skeptical at best about this trilogy, I had heard mixed opinions of varying degrees but I am beyond glad I opted to form my own opinion!

The final book of any series is a jumble of emotions, on the one hand you are itching to now how the characters you have come to love fair.. but you also don’t want the ride to end. Personally I was the girl wanting to pull an all-nighter, SLEEP BE DAMNED!, and binge read the last 200 odd pages that remained. Rest assured I did not do that, despite the very strong desire to do so, I did however wake up the next morning and instantly picked up where I left off and did nothing but read for the first 3 hours or so of my morning till it was finished. I kid you not as I finished Ruin and Rising I may have.. possibly.. teared up at more than one moment.

I find it difficult to review this book simply because anything I have to say contains spoilers and I refuse to ruin a single moment of the roller-coaster ride that is Ruin and Rising. What I can say is that where I found minor faults with the two previous books in the trilogy I cannot think of a single one for this one.. not a single one. I found myself liking characters I previously disliked – yes Zoya, I’m talking about you – and I even stopped noticing when Alina started complaining, for what was probably the umpteenth time.

Then there is the Darkling. He is probably the most magnetic and mysterious character I have read in a very long time. I kept wondering what he could possibly be up to when you were following Alina and Mal on their travels, and somehow Leigh Bardugo managed to do the impossible. She brilliantly crafted a villain that you inexplicably begin to feel sorry for, yes I felt sorry for the villain of the story despite the crimes he committed.

Basically all I can say is please, please if you haven’t already pick up The Grisha trilogy and read it I highly suggest you do. At best you will have another amazing set of books in your personal library and the worst case scenario is you have an opinion about a much talked about trilogy. What could possibly go wrong.. other than having a Ravka sized hole in your heart when you finish the books?

Disclaimer: The synopsis above was provided by GoodReads.
Leave a Reply

