The Shadowhunter’s Codex {Review}

Synopsis:


tumblr_mhtdb4qt9d1r3oy4vo1_500Now in its twenty-seventh edition, the Codex covers it all: the history and the laws of our world; how to identify, interact with, and if necessary, kill that world’s many colorful denizens; which end of the stele is the end you write with. No more will your attempt to fight off rogue vampires and warlocks be slowed by the need to answer endless questions from your new recruits: What is a Pyxis? Why don’t we use guns? If I can’t see a warlock’s mark, is there a polite way to ask him where it is? Where do we get all our holy water? Geography, History, Magic, and Zoology textbook all rolled into one, the Codex is here to help new Shadowhunters navigate the beautiful, often brutal world that we inhabit.

Review:

Rating: ★★★★☆

Let me start this review by stating the first thing you should know about me, I am a HUGE fan of Cassandra Clare and her Shadowhunter books. So when it came to deciding whether or not I should bother taking the time to read The Shadowhunter’s Codex it was a no brainer! I simply had to get my hands on it and add yet another Shadowhunter related book to my personal (ever growing) library.

“Is it necessary to read this to understand The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series?” I hear you ask, and the answer is a resounding no my dear friends. The Shadowhunter’s Codex is simply a companion to both TMI and TID (and also the upcoming Lady Midnight of course) that is purely for the die hard fans of the books. You don’t learn anything that benefits your understanding of events that transpire in either series all it does is extend your knowledge of the world and it’s inner workings in an official and somewhat detailed manner.

Some added incentive to read the Codex are the illustrations contained within that a collective of fantastic artists created specifically for the book, as well as some beloved characters from The Mortal Instruments (Clary, Jace and Simon) writing little notes to each other throughout the book. I found myself laughing out loud to some of the notes found during certain sections of the Codex and that added a personal touch that only increased my enjoyment while reading.

I want to be clear, you do not have to read The Shadowhunter’s Codex to be able to read either TMI, TID or Lady Midnight (coming March 2016!!). If like me you are a fan of Cassandra Clare and this amazing world she has created I would recommend this for you.

Disclaimer: The synopsis above was provided by GoodReads.
Leave a Reply

